Open Search

Three top students awarded Dart scholarships in 2023

A group of people posing for a picture in front of a banner
Dart CEO Mark VanDevelde; Dart Scholars Kyla Machingambi, Leila Sulliman-Maw and Alison Owens; and Dart Director Jackie Doak.

Dart has announced three students will join the prestigious Dart Scholar programme in 2023. Leila Sulliman-Maw will receive the William A. Dart Memorial Scholarship to study Life Sciences at the University of Toronto, Canada. Two high school scholarships are awarded to Kyla Machingambi and Alison Owens, both in Year 9 at Cayman Prep & High School.

All three students excelled throughout the multi-round selection process which included two Dart Scholar alumni as part of the adjudication panel. Applications and written tests were reviewed blind before candidates were short-listed for interview by a panel of internal and external judges in a rigorous process based on meritocracy and fairness.

“Our Dart Scholar programme is designed to recognise and promote academic excellence. It’s one of the many ways we are investing in Cayman’s future,” said Dart CEO Mark VanDevelde. “These three young women are not only exceptional students, they have also demonstrated leadership and service in their communities from an early age. In becoming Dart Scholars, they join a group of talented young people who are already making a positive impact in Cayman.”

There are now 40 current and past scholars in the programme which was launched in 2011. Each year, Dart awards one university scholarship and two four-year high school scholarships with a focus on science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Dart Scholars receive financial support of up to $40,000 per year and are offered paid internships each summer, giving them the opportunity to experience a variety of roles and industries before graduating. For high school scholars, Dart also arranges an annual enrichment trip which this year will see six students visiting Oxford University in July.

With 38 applicants for the university scholarship and 29 at high school level, the three Dart Scholar recipients were outstanding amongst their cohort.

Leila Sulliman-Maw, William A. Dart Memorial Scholarship

Leila graduated St. Ignatius Catholic School as the high school valedictorian with A-levels in mathematics, biology, chemistry and computer science. She heads to the University of Toronto in September to study Life Sciences, majoring in biochemistry with the goal of becoming a medical doctor. Leila was on the school debate team, played on various youth national netball teams and was selected for the Chamber of Commerce Mentorship programme. A member of the St Ignatius robotics programme, Leila has also mentored younger students in STEM subjects.

Kyla Machingambi, High School Scholarship

Kyla is a top student at Cayman Prep & High School where she has consistently attains A*/A grades across all subjects and has received multiple Principal Awards. Kyla has a keen interest in STEM subjects, winning silver in the UKMT Maths Challenge and gold at the Clifton Hunter Invitational Maths competition. She enjoys chess and is a talented guitar player. She represents her school on both basketball and netball teams and volunteers at her church.

Alison Owens, High School Scholarship

Alison is a straight-A student at Cayman Prep & High School where she has received the Principal Award an impressive nine times. Her interests in STEM subjects and wellness are leading Alison towards a career in medicine. She is an active member of the school’s debate team, won prizes in the UKMT Maths Challenge and was selected to attend the Youth Empowerment Symposium. Alison is currently her year’s representative on the Student Council and is a keen tennis player.

In addition, Dart recognised three finalists in the high school category. Jaden Ebanks (Layman E. Scott High School, Cayman Brac), Alexandra Hendrikse (Cayman Prep & High School) and Cosette Brendel (St. Ignatius Catholic School) will each receive a monetary award.


Dart media contact:

Ben Meade

Senior Manager, Communications



Notes for editors:

Each year, Dart awards scholarships to noteworthy high school and university students - providing them with financial assistance, mentorship opportunities, educational enrichment and meaningful work experience.

The foundation of Dart’s education programmes is the Dart family’s philosophy of promoting education and fostering academic excellence in the STEM subjects – science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Dart believes that STEM subjects are the fundamental building blocks for both academic and career success. For more information on Dart Scholar visit

High School Scholarship
Since 2012, Dart has awarded two four-year high school scholarships annually based on academic excellence with a clear focus on science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). A vigorous evaluation process – initial review of application and documentation, mathematics test and written essay, and a face-to-face interview - identifies the successful applicants. In accordance with Dart's culture of meritocracy, applications are evaluated using a completely blind selection process.

University Scholarship
The William A. Dart Memorial Scholarship was established in 2013 in memory of Ken Dart's late father who founded the Dart Corporation. It is awarded annually to a student pursuing a bachelor’s degree at an accredited overseas institution and renews annually for up to four years, subject to academic performance.

Both scholarships include bespoke mentoring and enrichment opportunities, designed to further encourage, support and inspire students to achieve their full potential.

In other news

You may also like